Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation Award

Continuing Bobbie Steen’s Legacy

Bobbie May 1990 HeadshotOn November 12, 1995, the sport and recreation community in BC lost a dear friend and colleague, Bobbie Steen. Bobbie left a lasting impression on BC through her passionate dedication to advancing girls and women in physical activity and sport. As part of her legacy, an award has been established to keep Bobbie’s vision alive.
The Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation has been created to provide financial support to charitable activities dedicated to advancing gender equity in physical activity and sport and/or the community betterment resulting from female involvement in physical activity and sport.

To donate to the Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation please contact Sport BC.

The Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation Award in the amount of $2000 is awarded to an emerging leader whose dedication to the women and girls of BC parallels those of Bobbie Steen and the Foundation.



Nominations for 2019 will be open in August!

Nominate a candidate for the Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation Award.


Jasmine Mander with Sue Griffin, Past Chair June 2019

Jasmine Mander congratulated as the 2018 Bobbie Steen Legacy Foundation Award recipient!

As a player, Jasmine was a nominee for UBC’s rookie of the year in 2015, an eventual captain of the women’s soccer team where she was a member of two CanWest Conference Championship teams and one National Championship winning team while finishing her Bachelors in Kinesiology.

Nominated as a YWCA Woman of Distinction, the former Canadian Youth National Team and Vancouver Whitecaps FC player was a three time Academic All Canadian and recognized as BC Soccer’s 2019 Woman of Distinction.

Past Award Recipients:

2018 – Jasmine Mander

2017 – Debra Neufeld

2016 – Becca Stephen

2015 – Naomi Walser

2014 – Kendra Finch

2013 – Dominique Falls

2012 – Mitra Tshan

2011 – Alicia Borsoi

2010 – Sabrina Chan & Jennifer Eng

2008 – Rae Mitchell & Brooke Pighin

2007 – Emily Schultz

2006 – Kathleen Stoody

2005 – Jessica Baskerville & Karen Henry

2004 – Alan Anderson

2003 – Aboriginal Sport & Recreation Association of BC

Bobbie Steen Award of Excellence Recipients:

2011 – Tracy Terry & Burnaby New Westminster Ringette Association

2010 – Denise Coutts & Kamloops Long Blades

2009 – Sherri Thomson & Amber Zirnhelt

2008 – Dee Neukomm & West Coast Nordic Club

2007 – Allison McNeill & Lisa Davidson

2006 – Gail Donohue & Norma Foster

2005 – Donna Blackstock

2004 – Bill Holden

2003 – Jacqueline Ferraby